Today was a great day to explore a couple portions of the old Pittsburg & Shawmut Railroad. The 88 mile long railroad was founded in 1903 and constructed over the next several years. Originally named the Brookville and Mahoning Railroad, its name was changed in 1910 mainly to avoid confusion with the Boston and Maine Railroad which had the same reporting marks. The railroad ran from Brockway, PA to Freeport, PA as a connection to Pittsburgh for its parent company; the Pittsburg, Shawmut and Northern Railroad.
In 1916 the Pittsburg & Shawmut broke away from its parent railroad and became its own company. The P&S was completed from Brockway to Freeport in 1917 and continued to operate for nearly a century. In 1996 the railroad was purchased by Genesee & Wyoming Inc. (a short line holding company) but continued to operate under the name of Pittsburg & Shawmut Railroad. On January 1, 2004 it was absorbed into the Buffalo & Pittsburgh Railroad who continues to operate a section of it from Freeport to Kittanning.
This railroad was the main supplier of coal for the Reesedale Power Plant until its closure in 2012. With the plants closing the section of railway near Templeton seems to be largely abandoned. The tracks still remain but are in poor condition in many places. The furthest east we explored today was near Rt. 66/28. There are no tracks in this section.
After parking and walking a while, we are approaching the Mack Tunnel.
Approaching the eastern portal.
This was certainly the nicest of the two we explored today.